Dion Lee – Winner

The 2010 LMFF Designer Award presented by Woolmark, was a competitive title this year, with seven cutting-edge designer finalists seeking to win the title. Lui Hon, Dion Lee, Gail Sorronda, Dhini Couture, Gary Bigeni, Konstantina Mittas and Therese Rawsthorne were Australia’s crème de la crème of designers up for the award, however, there could only be one winner for APL Photography to capture.

The ever-talented Dion Lee, is one of the country’s best young designers, and rightfully received the Designer Award last night. The Award encourages excellence within the Australian fashion industry, acknowledging designers in their first five years of business who excel in creative design, innovation, quality and workmanship.

Dion Lee embodies all of the Award criteria and has the potential to contribute to the future growth of the Australian fashion industry. Upon receiving the title, Lee also received a $10,000 cheque from Woolmark, and the opportunity to head to either Florence or Paris to meet a network of international contacts, including fabric suppliers.

According to festival director Karen Webster, while choosing a winner was tough, Dion Lee’s “standard of design, innovation and professionalism was exceptional… a real force to be reckoned with.”

The designer continues to embrace new challenges in his designs, upholding his consistency in quality and flawless finishes of tailoring and strong sculptural shapes. We look forward to seeing what Dion Lee has to offer in his future collections, and we wish him all the best throughout his fashionable endeavors, as he truly is Australian fashion’s next best thing.

Monika Pilekic